On February 24th, the Dallas Stars announced a team hall of fame. Their inaugural class has also been announced as well. A player, and a former general manager of the team will be the first inductees. Both Derian Hatcher, and Bob Gainey are a part of that 1999 Stanley Cup winning team.

Derian Hatcher

The captain of the team’s lone Stanley Cup championship is appropriately one of the first two selected in the class number one of the newly established hall. Hatcher was not only a leader, but a physical force who led the team to multiple banners hanging from the rafters to this day. In an interview with dallasstars.com, Derian Hatcher said he’s thrilled to join his former coach, and GM Bob Gainey in the Hall Of Fame.

“I think it’s great that I’m going in with Bob,” Hatcher said to Dallasstars.com. “He was my first coach, first GM, made me captain. I just think we agreed on a lot of things and got along really well.”

“I really just wanted to play my best every game, and that’s what I did there,” Hatcher said. “You just focus on what you have to do, and the rest seems to take care of itself.”

Bob Gainey

Former Head Coach, and General Manager was also selected into the Hall Of Fame’s first class. A notable builder of that championship team that closed out the twentieth century. Bob Gainey was also the first coach for the Stars after the team relocated to Dallas, Texas from Minnesota. Gainey reflected on the team, and it’s staff during the 90s.

“I think when you look back, the people are what you remember the most,” Gainey said. “We were all pulling the rope at the same time, and that helped create some great results.”

Who’s next

Photo credit: dallasnews.com

For the second class next year to be inducted into the Dallas Stars hall of fame, the first name that will probably come up is Mike Modano. He’s a Stanley Cup champion with the team, and the all-time leader in points. He’s also got an annual trophy named after him too. For what he has done with the franchise, and factoring in his production an an American born player why wouldn’t Modano be the next up in line?

Other possibilities for next season are fairly obvious as well. Sergei Zubov, and Jere Lehtinen. Two fellow Cup winners from that vaunted 1999. They are both also hockey hall of famers. Other names that can be picked from that team are the coach Ken Hitchcock, Brett Hull, Eddie Belfour, and Joe Nieuwendyk.

There are guys who have certainly earned that recognition going into the future that have played for the Stars since that 1999 team. Guys like Brenden Morrow, Marty Turco, Jamie Benn, and Miro Heiskanen to only name a few. But the first class inaugurated consisted only two people. However, the hall of fame isn’t going anywhere and there will be plenty of time for new inductees, memories, and even snubs. As true for any hall of fame.

Featured photo: Dallas Morning News

Leave Your Thoughts!

Check Also

Thank You, Klinger!

Last week, the John Klingberg era came to an end in Dallas. The unrestricted free agent fo…