Major League Baseball today announced that catcher Jose Trevino was named the Texas Rangers 2021 nominee for the Roberto Clemente Award, baseball’s most prestigious individual honor for Major Leaguers.

The Roberto Clemente Award is the annual recognition of a Major League player who best represents the game of Baseball through extraordinary character, community involvement, philanthropy, and positive contributions, both on and off the field.

Each MLB Club nominates one player to be considered for the league-wide Award in tribute to Clemente’s achievements and character as part of the annual program.

Photo: Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

Since joining the Rangers in 2019, Trevino has been very active in a number of community endeavors. He served as the honorary chairman of the 2020 Texas Rangers Toy Drive, which raised funds to purchase holiday gifts for youngsters at the Texas Rangers MLB Youth Academy. At the same time, Trevino worked with the West Side Helping Hand in his hometown of Corpus Christi to purchase over 2,800 toys for families in need; the fourth consecutive year, he has operated that Holiday Toy Drive. During the hiatus in the 2020 MLB season due to the pandemic, he created “Trevi Talks” on social media where he engaged fans, gave away prizes, and raised funds for several organizations. This season, Trevino designed a special Tayhoss “Hip Hip Jose” t-shirt with the process of its sales going to the Texas Rangers Baseball Foundation. He also has participated in a number of other Rangers community events.         

Trevino will be presented with his 2021 Rangers Roberto Clemente Award in a pre-game ceremony on Wednesday, September 15, which marks the 20th annual Roberto Clemente Day Major League Baseball established the annual recognition to honor Clemente’s legacy as a humanitarian and to formally acknowledge Club nominees of the Roberto Clemente Award.

As part of the league-wide celebration, the Roberto Clemente Day logo will appear on the bases. Official dugout lineup cards and a special tribute video will be played in ballparks.

The league-wide winner of the Roberto Clemente Award will be selected via a blue-ribbon panel, including  Baseball Commissioner Robert D. Manfred, Jr., representatives from MLB-affiliated networks (MLB Network, FOX Sports, ESPN, and TBS), MLB.com, as well as Roberto’s children, Enrique, Luis, and Roberto Clemente, Jr. Beginning today, fans can vote for the Roberto Clemente Award via mlb.com/clemente21. The site will feature bios of each nominee and allow fans to vote until the end of the season on Sunday, October 3rd. The winner of the fan vote will count as one vote among those cast by the blue-ribbon panel.

The concept of honoring Major League players for their philanthropic work was created in 1971 as the “Commissioner’s Award.” The recognition was renamed to the “Roberto Clemente Award” in 1973 in honor of the Hall of Famer and 15-time All-Star who died in a plane crash on New Year’s Eve 1972 while attempting to deliver supplies to earthquake victims in Nicaragua.

The distinguished list of past Roberto Clemente Award winners includes 19 members of the National Baseball Hall of Fame:

1971Willie Mays+**1982Ken Singleton1993Barry Larkin+2004Edgar Martinez+2014Jimmy Rollins*
1972Brooks Robinson+**1983Cecil Cooper1994Dave Winfield+2005John Smoltz+2015Andrew McCutchen
1973Al Kaline+1984Ron Guidry1995Ozzie Smith+2006Carlos Delgado2016Curtis Granderson
1974Willie Stargell+1985Don Baylor1996Kirby Puckett+2007Craig Biggio+2017Anthony Rizzo
1975Lou Brock+1986Garry Maddox1997Eric Davis2008Albert Pujols2018Yadier Molina
1976Pete Rose1987Rick Sutcliffe1998Sammy Sosa2009Derek Jeter+2019Carlos Carrasco
1977Rod Carew+1988Dale Murphy1999Tony Gwynn+2010Tim Wakefield2020Adam Wainwright
1978Greg Luzinski1989Gary Carter+2000Al Leiter2011David Ortiz 
1979Andre Thornton1990Dave Stewart2001Curt Schilling2012Clayton Kershaw 
1980Phil Niekro+1991Harold Reynolds2002Jim Thome+2013Carlos Beltrán 
1981Steve Garvey1992Cal Ripken, Jr.+2003Jamie Moyer2014Paul Konerko* 

Featured Image: Ronald Martinez/Getty Images
Comments are closed.

Check Also

How to Make Informed Wagers by Analysing NFL Betting Trends

It’s not easy to successfully bet on the NFL. However, you can improve your chances of suc…